Mon panier 0
Mes favoris 0
Shanghai Faithful : Betrayal and Forgiveness in a Chinese Christian Family

Shanghai Faithful : Betrayal and Forgiveness in a Chinese Christian Family

Jennifer Lin
Date de parution : 01/02/2017

Expédié sous 48h
22,00 €

Livraison France à 7,90 € et à 5,90 € à partir de 45 € d'achat

Ean : 9781442256934
Pages : 332

Partager :


Within the next decade, China could be home to more Christians than any country in the world. Through the 150-year saga of a single family, this book vividly dramatizes the remarkable religious evolution of the world's most populous nation. Shanghai Faithful is both a touching family memoir and a chronicle of the astonishing spread of Christianity in China. Five generations of the Lin family—buffeted by history's crosscurrents and personal strife—bring to life an epoch that is still unfolding.

A compelling cast—a poor fisherman, a doctor who treated opium addicts, an Ivy League–educated priest, and the charismatic preacher Watchman Nee—sets the book in motion. Veteran journalist Jennifer Lin takes readers from remote nineteenth-century mission outposts to the thriving house churches and cathedrals of today's China. The Lin family—and the book's central figure, the Reverend Lin Pu-chi—offer witness to China's tumultuous past, up to and beyond the betrayals and madness of the Cultural Revolution, when the family's resolute faith led to years of suffering. Forgiveness and redemption bring the story full circle. With its sweep of history and the intimacy of long-hidden family stories, Shanghai Faithful offers a fresh look at Christianity in China—past, present, and future.


List of Characters
Note on Spellings and Reporting
Prologue: Shanghai, 1956

Part I. Foreign Ghosts
1 Cook: Fujian Province, Mid-1800s
2 Doctor: Fujian Province, 1890
3 Firstborn: Fuzhou, 1907

Part II. Patriots
4 Light and Truth: Shanghai, 1913
5 A Modern Man: Aboard SS Nanking, 1918
6 Second Daughter: Fuzhou, 1920
7 Running Dog: Fuzhou, 1924
8 Alma Mater: Fuzhou, 1928

Part III. A House Divided
9 Watchman Nee: Shanghai, 1932
10 Island of Shanghai: Shanghai, 1937
11 Bund to Boardwalk: Shanghai, 1949

Part IV. New Order
12 American Wolves: Shanghai, 1950
13 Missing: Shanghai, 1955
14 Prelude: Shanghai, 1957

Part V. Bad Elements
15 Lane 170: Shanghai, 1966
16 Yellow Music: Shanghai, 1968
17 Barefoot Doctor: Jilin Province, 1969
18 Passages: Shanghai, 1971
19 Father, Hello! Shanghai, 1972
20 Lost: Jilin Province, 1973

Part IV. Revival
21 Faith: Fuzhou, 2015